Underage DUI

Modesto Underage DUI Attorneys

Representing Those Under 21 in California

If you or a loved one has been arrested for a DUI while under the age of 21, we urge you to seek legal counsel from Forkner Orlando & Echevarria immediately. We have the knowledge and experience to help you avoid the serious penalties that come with a DUI conviction.

We understand that facing charges of driving under the influence as a minor can be an overwhelming and distressing experience. With our team of skilled criminal defense attorneys, we are here to provide you with comprehensive legal guidance, support, and representation.


Call (209) 753-4009 or contact us online today.


California Underage DUI Law

In California, it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .01 percent or higher. This is true even if the driver is not actually "operating" the vehicle, but is found to be "in actual physical control" of a vehicle while intoxicated. The penalties for a DUI conviction for a driver under the age of 21 are based on their BAC level at the time of the arrest.

Underage DUI Penalties in California

A driver under 21 with a BAC of .01 percent or higher will be charged with an infraction, not a misdemeanor. This means that the driver will not face jail time if convicted, but may be subject to and driver's license suspension of up to one year.

If an underage driver has a BAC of at least .05 percent but below .08 percent, they will also be charged with an infraction. This offense is punishable by a fine of up to $100, license suspension for at least one year, and a mandatory DUI program for three months (if the driver is at least 18).

Lastly, if an underage driver has a BAC of at least .08 percent, they will be charged with a standard DUI like an adult. A first-time DUI offense is a misdemeanor, punishable by a jail sentence of up to six months, license suspension of up to one year, a DUI program for three to nine months, and a fine of up to $1,000.

A driver under 21 with a BAC of .08 percent or higher who has no prior DUI convictions will face a minimum sentence of three days in jail and a maximum sentence of six months. A driver under 21 with a BAC of .08 percent or higher who has one prior DUI conviction will face a minimum sentence of 10 days in jail and a maximum sentence of six months. A driver under 21 with a BAC of .08 percent or higher who has two or more prior DUI convictions will face a minimum sentence of 30 days in jail and a maximum sentence of six months.

Ready to Fight for You

Not only can a DUI result in harsh penalties, but it can also negatively impact your life in many ways, from employment to academics. Our commitment is to protect your rights, navigate the complex legal process, and work toward the best possible outcome for your case. Trust in our expertise and let Forkner Orlando & Echevarria assist you in your underage DUI matter, ensuring your future remains bright.


Contact us today at (209) 753-4009. Serving underage drivers in Stanislaus, Fresno, & Sacramento Counties.